Bank card fraud emptied my account

credit-cardsA couple of years ago a friend of mine experienced the horrendous feeling of his credit card being maxed out by card fraudsters. Today it was my turn to experience something similar. I receive an SMS when money comes in or goes out of my cheque account (and credit card account). I just arrived home when I received an SMS that says the following: (I am withholding the amount)

FNB 🙂 Rxxxx.xx reserved for purchase @ Multichoice Africa from cheq a/c..008386 using card..4255. 11Jul 16:19

The card in question is my cheque card connected to my cheque account. And, they emptied my account and pushed it into the red! The odd thing about this is that I have never, EVER, used this card online to purchase anything at ALL! I have only EVER used this card to purchase things in-store. Where these fraudsters found my card number, I do not know.

Further, I never go to my bank account online via emails, and I do not need to make use of my card number to do so! I used to be a software developer on anti-virus software and also on data security software. I know the risks, and I know what to look for.

Also, this “purchase” was done at Multichoice Africa, which is the DSTV African division, outside of South Africa. That means, it was probably some Nigerian that got gold of my card number and paid for his DSTV account online. The question is, how did these criminals get hold of my card number?

Did they hack into FNB to get to my card number, and how many card numbers did they steal? It is close to impossible to hack into banks these days, so the follow-up question is, Did they have help on the inside?

I had to cancel the card, and now I sit with no card, to an account with no money! Oh, the irony!

Leave a Reply

